Exercise: Writing a brief

For this exercise I will identify a piece of work by an illustrator whose work I find some connection with. For example, I might choose a particular illustration because I admire its conceptual or narrative dimension. 

After I will try to write the brief for the illustration I’ve chosen. Starting from the context in which the illustration is positioned, I will write the brief which would have led to the creation of the image. I must direct the illustrator in terms of what content should be included. If the context has text, I must identify the connection between the image and the written content. 

Moreso, advising the illustrator about the role the image will perform. Considering whether it is extending the meaning of the text, decorating, informing or educating and potential ways this can be achieved. For example, what colours? What flavour? Additionally, I should be clear about who I think the intended audience for the illustration is, while, briefly indicating which stylistic aspects I admire. Furthermore, examine the effects that I would like to see in the image, which aspects of distortion, and what use of tools and materials is appropriate to the idea.

To start the process I have created a mind-map displaying various illustrators whose work I admire.

Approaching the task this way allows me to distinguish which illustrators work I would like use for this exercise. It was difficult to distinguish a single image from one artist for this exercise. However, creating a mind-map allowed me to narrow down some of the work I could choose from. During the process I found myself enthusiastic and excited about Xavier Altena’s work.

Creating a spider diagram based around the illustrator to make a path for me to identify common traits in her work and a established style. Unfortunately, I had an accident with my cup of tea hence the ink bleeding on the page. Honestly, many of her designs speak to me and could work well for this exercise as I enjoy her visuals and style.

Fig. 1

The image I have chosen to use is from a magazine article for ‘The Lions Den Magazine, (2018). The article is titled ‘How to survive setting up your own business next to your day time job’. The mind map also allowed me to dissect her work to identify what factors are involved in the construction of her designs. This is reiterated below in steps to visualise with more direction and clarity.

  • Context – Illustration has been designed for specific use
    • Business article in magazine
    • Formal
    • Direct
  • Relationship between image and text
    • Text is title
    • Title explains a contrast and difficulty between ‘day time job’ and ‘own business’
    • Imagery represents meaning of text with a strong juxtaposition inspired by title.
    • Problem solving – Title represents a problem however article and information provides positive tips and information. Images reiterates this.
  • Role image plays
    • Contrast is evident throughout the composition and colour scheme
    • Contrasting but complimentary, represents positive direction.
    • Colour scheme and imagery display a chaos with underlying possible outcome to be harmonious
    • Reinforces information in article
    • Captures and directs and attention
  • Flavour – positive, bold, rich in colour and prominent personality
  • Tools and materials – digitally produced artwork (adobe illustrator) with early sketches, high res image for print.
  • Meaning – Displays
    • time management
    • stress
    • complications mentioned in article
    • business
    • balance
    • advice
  • Stylistic Aspects
    • 90’s pop culture
    • vibrant colours
    • good use of negative space
  • Target Audience – 18-35 yrs old.

The various points I have gathered through the form of a mind map largely contributed towards the brief I have built for Xavier’s design.

My brief

The Lions Den Magazine have released an article titled ‘How to survive setting up your own business next to your day time job’. You have been asked to construct an illustration to feature alongside the information you are given e.g title of article and information within the article. Think about the relevance of the text and what role your image will play in the composition (magazine layout). Your target audience is young adults ranging between 18-35, so it is important that the visuals relate to this age group. Consider what visual styles are relevant to this age group e.g. 90’s pop culture. Experiment with style and do not be afraid to add your own personality and flavour to the design. You can use whatever materials you desire, but do take in to account what will look professional and appropriate for the article. Furthermore, consider the meaning and through what media, technique and method you will displays various stylistic aspects.

Finally, you will also need to bear in mind that your illustration is used for print. Size and resolution is important in this case. This may be something that you may need to discuss with your client to specify sizing details.


After completing the brief I have become more aware of various aspects that lay the foundations for successful design work. This process has allowed me to work in reverse and identify factors I may not usually consider or give much deep thought. An example of this is target audience. I can openly say that usually I do not actually think about this and it is more relevant to business than design in my ignorant eyes. However, given the opportunity to tackle a brief such as this allowed me to see the relevance of not forgetting about vital details involved in building my designs. Equally, I have been able to have insight in to how a successful designer has approach the brief themselves.

Feedback

In regards to my feedback I am aware of the particular factors in which I could improve. My tutor has pointed out constructively various points I have missed or failed to focus on. I lacked in specifications for the size and resolution of the image. As well as, time scale for roughs, feedback and final artwork. Looking back at the exercise I failed to find any information specifying the size of the artwork. Though, my approximate guess would be 18mm by 22mm (ish). The resolution should be 300 ppi for print being a vectorised image there should be no issues with pixilation. To set the timescale I was a little unsure but I have settled on approximately 3 weeks to present roughs, receive feedback and present final artwork. I feel this would be enough time for the illustrator to achieve what is necessary, however, sure I am not.

Bibliography

Images

Fig.1 Altena, X (2018) ‘Illustrations for Die Höhle der Löwen (DE)
‘How to survive setting up your own business next to your day-time job” ‘
[Advertisement] At: https://xavieraaltena.com/Mein-schones-Doppelleben (Accessed 06/03/21)

2 thoughts on “Exercise: Writing a brief

  1. Hi Serapha,

    I’ve just looked over your brief after seeing your message in the OCA group conversation. It’s really good! You explain your process very clearly and the final brief is very detailed and professional. You also leave the artist enough freedom while giving them guidelines to consider during the creation process. I am currently doing this exercise myself and reading your blog has helped me amend some of my work (such as giving the artist more freedom).

    Well done!
    Catherine

    Like

Leave a comment